How do you get rid of cicadas?

Three ways work. Knocking cicadas off plants by spraying water with a garden hose. Wrapping tree trunks and large bushes with foil or sticky bands (barrier tape) to catch cicadas trying to move up plants to feed or lay eggs. Protecting young or valuable plants by covering them with netting.