Who invented chow mein?

Chow mein, (in Mandarin "ch'ao mien") meaning “stir-fried noodles,” originated in Northern China and is mentioned in America as early as 1920, in the novel Main Street by Sinclair Lewis. The recipe itself dates back as far as 220 CE and the identity of the creator is unknown.