What is it called when you get paid twice a month?

A semimonthly payroll is paid twice a month, usually on the 15th and last days of the month. If one of these pay dates falls on a weekend, the payroll is instead paid out on the preceding Friday. A biweekly payroll is paid every other week, usually on a Friday.