Why is chicken cordon bleu called chicken cordon bleu?

Cordon bleu refers to a special order of French knights. Literally, it translates to blue ribbon. Henry III of France established the tradition of the highest order of knighthood bearing a blue ribbon. Since then, cordon bleu has come to apply to the highest order of food and cooking as an analogy.