What historical event happened on november first?

There have been many notable events on November 1st. For example: 1993, the European Union went into effect; 1946, first NBA Basketball game played; 1936, Mussolini announced alliance with Germany; 1512, the Sistine Chapel was opened to the public after Michelangelo painted the ceiling.