What is the substitution for rice vinegar?

White wine vinegar can be a substitute for rice vinegar. If it is tart or more acidic, then you can add a bit of sugar and salt to create a milder taste like rice vinegar. Similarly, red wine vinegar can also be used as an alternative, though it is usually more acidic than rice wine vinegar.