What's the definition of shamel?

Shamel is a Goan percussion instrument. There are two variants of shamel: the original one, and the zod shamel. The shamel is played with two thin cane or bamboo sticks, one of which is straight, and the other is curved at the end. The sticks are from a tree called beth.