What are the three stages of sleep?

Sleep has 4 or 5 stages depending on the expert you are speaking to. Stage 1 is pre-sleep or drowsiness and easily awakened. Stage 2 is deeper sleep and less easily aroused; Stage 3 and Stage 4, depending on the brain wave patterns, are deep sleep; Stage 5 is R-E-M sleep