What's vinegar pie?

Vinegar Pie originated back in the 19th century. When people had trouble getting certain ingredients for flavoring, vinegar was an alternative. The acidity in the vinegar actually gives the pie a flavor that is reminiscent of lemon. Plus, it gets a little bit of a crust on top when baked.