What's the definition of gag?

According to Merriam-Webster there are many definitions for the word gag: restrict use of the mouth by inserting something into it to prevent speech/outcry; to pry or hold open with a gag; to choke or cause to retch; an official restraint on debate or free speech; or a laugh-provoking remark or act.