What makes food kosher?

Kosher laws are rules that frame what foods are permissible for practicing Jews to eat. There are a variety of rules that determine whether a food is Kosher, and interpretation can vary. Rabbinic blessings do not make food kosher. The type of animal and means of slaughter are common restrictions.