What is the meaning of happy as a clam?

Happy as a clam means to be exceedingly happy and content. The phrase most likely started as “happy as a clam at high tide” and was popularized in the early 19th century. Clams can only be readily dug up by humans when the tide is low; in high water, they're almost impossible to find.