What language is swahili?

Swahili, also known as Kiswahili, is a Bantu language and the first language of the Swahili people. It is a lingua franca of the African Great Lakes region and other parts of eastern and south-eastern Africa, in particular including Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi.