What does chlamydia do to your body?

Women frequently develop pelvic inflammatory disease (PID). PID can cause infertility, chronic pelvic pain, tubal pregnancies, and the continued spread of the disease. In men, untreated chlamydia can cause urethral infection and complications such as swollen and tender testicles.