What is dolby audio?

Dolby Digital (AC-3) is an industry-standard surround sound audio codec designed to deliver 5.1 channels of audio to many popular forms of entertainment including DVDs, Blu-ray Discs, cable, broadcast, and satellite TV, PCs, and even video games.