How do you chew food?

Chewing, or mastication, is the process by which food is crushed & ground by teeth. It is the 1st step of digestion. During mastication, food is positioned by the cheek & tongue between the teeth for grinding. The jaw muscles move the teeth into intermittent contact, repeatedly occluding & opening.