Where is cayenne pepper come from?

The cayenne pepper is said to originate from Cayenne, French Guiana. It's commonly dried and ground into a fine powder. It's also used fresh in many recipes. It grows around the world in places such as India, East Africa, Mexico, and certain areas of the United States.