How did pizza get its name?

The first known used of the word pizza, as a flattened bread spread with mixture usually including tomatoes and cheese, is from 1825. It's an Italian word, but its former etymology is unknown. It may be akin to Old High German pizzo, a bite, or related to Greek pitta, flat bread.