How much is a cup in baking terms?

In baking terms, a cup is equal to 8 ounces, liquid or dry ingredients.

---

8 fluid ounces. You should use different measurements for wet and dry ingredients. Use dry measuring cups for dry ingredients and don't pack the cup tight unless the recipe specifies it for something like brown sugar.