What's the difference between a scallion and a chive?

Scallions are very young onions. You can use the whole scallion including the green stem. Chives are an herb that grows from a bulb but just the green part or the flowers should be eaten. They do taste a little similar to onion, but not as strong as scallions, and also have a hint of garlic