What is the difference between brownie batter and cake batter?

Brownie batter does not contain a rising agent other than eggs, which give brownies their distinctive chewy texture. Cake batter does need a rising agent such as baking powder to create bubbles of air as it bakes and gives it its signature fluffiness.