What makes iced tea cloudy?

Cloudiness in tea is caused by caffeine and tannins bonding with each other when tea is refrigerated or iced. The hotter the original brewing water the more caffeine and tannins are extracted from the tea leaves, and the murkier the beverage will be.

---

Tea that is cooled too quickly can turn cloudy. Another possible reason for cloudy iced tea is the water used was not filtered or distilled.