Why are nightshade vegetables called nightshade vegetables?

Nightshade is a family of plants that includes tomatoes, eggplant, potatoes, peppers, and tobacco. Nightshade vegetables are unique because they contain small amounts of alkaloids. Alkaloids can cause inflamation.