How do you propagate an orchid?

Cut the stem near the orchids base and just above a node, or leaf joint. This will allow a new orchid to continue to grow from the trimmed stem. Next, cut your stem into smaller pieces that contain at least 2 nodes each. I then like to cover the ends with an anti-fungal such as cinnamon or charcoal.