What does a black tie event mean?

Black Tie events, refer to formal meetings, parties, galas or banquets that expect its guests to wear Tuxedos, evening gowns, or fancy formal wear. Frequently, the clothing is a requirement, and guests who are not so dressed up, may be denied entry to the event.