What is a proper noun and a common noun?

A proper noun is the specific name of something or someone. Proper nouns are always capitalized in English. A common noun is the name of a group of similar things. For example, John is a boy and Jill is a girl: John and Jill are proper nouns; boy and girl are common nouns.