What is sonic mania plus?

Sonic Mania Plus is coming to as a standalone release and as a digital upgrade for the original. It adds two new characters (Ray the Flying Squirrel and Mighty the Armadillo) and Encore Mode, a new twist on the original campaign with remixed stages and more