What's the difference between a metaphor and an allegory?

A metaphor is a figure of speech that makes a comparison to illustrate a concept. Example: The snow was a white blanket over everything. An allegory is a story, poem, or picture that can be interpreted to reveal a hidden meaning, typically a moral or political one.