What is symphonic membrane?

Inside the axon terminal of a sending cell are many synaptic vesicles. These are membrane-bound spheres filled with neurotransmitter molecules. There is a small gap, called the synaptic cleft, between the axon terminal of the presynaptic neuron and the membrane of the postsynaptic cell.