What is the origin of shave and a haircut two bits?

Before coinage was common, large coins were cut into wedges, usually 8 pieces. It is where the term pieces of eight for pirate treasure originated. Signs in the barber shop would say a shave and a haircut, 25 cents. So 2 pieces, or 2 bits, represented a quarter of a dollar.