How did sam get the part of nick fury?

This version of Fury would be modeled after Sam Jackson - Millar's favorite actor - though they didn't exactly ask for his permission. ... When he saw a familiar-looking Nick Fury amongst his latest haul, Jackson's people got in touch with Marvel to ensure he play the character in any future movies.