What is a shallot?

Shallots are are in the allium family with onions, but with a sweeter, milder flavor, a hint of garlic, and a smaller size with thinner rings meaning they can be minced quite fine. They work well raw or in more delicate dishes where an onion would overpower.

---

The shallot is a type of onion, specifically a botanical variety of the species Allium cepa.