What's the probability of a plane crash?

According to The Economist, the probability of your plane going down is around one in 5.4 million. Other reports place the odds closer to one in 11 million. To put this into perspective, you are far more likely to be struck by lightning or attacked by a shark than you are to die in a plane crash.