When was pluto a planet?

From 1930 to 2006. In 2006 the International Astronomical Union (IAU) defined planets with Resolution 5A-a, Orbits the Sun, b, a nearly round shape, c, has cleared the neighborhood around its orbit. Resolution 6A defines Pluto as a Dwarf Planet, since it has not cleared its neighborhood (5A-c).

---

In 2006 the International Astronomical Union (IAU) defined planets with Resolution 5A-a, Orbits the Sun, b, a nearly round shape, c, has cleared the neighborhood around its orbit. Resolution 6A defines Pluto as a Dwarf Planet, since it has not cleared its neighborhood (5A-c).

---

Pluto was discovered in 1930 as the ninth planet from the Sun. In 2006 Pluto was downgraded to a dwarf planet.

---

Pluto was considered a planet from its discovery in 1930 until it was demoted to a dwarf planet in 2006.