Who was the first western explorer to reach china?

Italian traveling merchants Niccolò and Maffeo Polo, the father and uncle of Marco Polo. In 1266, they reached the seat of Kublai Khan, the leader of the Mongol Yuan dynasty, at Dadu, present day Beijing, China.