Why is it dark in space?

It is not dark everywhere. It is only dark when you are not near a star like our sun. When you are not near a glowing object, there is nothing to create light in space so it is dark. It's just like when you turn off your bedroom light after dark your room gets dark.

---

Space appears dark due to the lack of atmosphere or other particles for light to reflect from.