What band was originally named the new york birds?

The band Led Zeppelin was formerly known as the New Yardbirds. The band began their first tour of the UK on 4 October 1968, still billed as the New Yardbirds; they played their first show as Led Zeppelin at the University of Surrey in Battersea on 25 October.