What is the opposite of purple?

On a color wheel, the opposite color of purple [or violet] is yellow. Purple is halfway between red and blue, yellow is halfway between green and orange. On some color wheels, blue appears to be the opposite of yellow. It depends on additive or subtractive properties of the medium.

---

On the color wheel, yellow is the opposite of purple.