Why is wasabi spicy?

Wasabi contains the compound Allyl Isothiocyanate, or, A I T C. The spiciness can be washed away with foods or beverages containing fats or oils, such as dairy products. A I T C is also present in most mustards, although at lower potency. It's what gives wasabi and mustard their pungent flavor.