How old you have to be to be a boy scout?

A boy can be a boy scout at around 10 and a half to 11 years of age but not yet 18. Each rank of cub scouting is designed to keep a boy within his age group and to advance with his den. Out of policy, the BSA will not mix boys in one peer group with boys a much greater age.