When was the samurai period?

Samurai existed in Japan since the Kamakura Shogunate 1185-1333 AD and were abolished in 1876. Though there are many eras, the Sengoku Period (Warring States Period) between 1467–1615 AD is one of the most well documented and well known high eras of Samurai dominance on the battlefield.