What's the difference between thai basil and regular basil?

Thai basil is a variety of basil best known for its use in Asian and Thai cuisine. Unlike its cousin, Italian basil, Thai basil has sturdy, resilient leaves that stand up well to extended cooking times and prolonged heat.

---

Appearance: Thai basil has purple stems, while sweet basil has green stems. The leaves of Thai basil are narrower than sweet basil leaves and have a slightly serrated edge. Sweet basil leaves also tend to be more delicate than sturdy Thai basil leaves.