What is a viking berserker?

In the Old Norse lore, berserkers were those who were said to have fought in a trance-like fury. They were members of unruly warrior gangs that worshipped Odin, the supreme Norse deity, and attached themselves to royal and noble courts as bodyguards and shock troops.