Why do i cry when i cut onions?

Cutting an onion opens up its cells, allowing enzymes normally kept separate to mix. This chemical reaction releases one of two gases, syn-propanethial-S-oxide or lachrymatory factor, which irritate the eyes. Your body responds to this irritation by increasing production of tears.