Who wrote the alchemist?

Paulo Coelho is the author of "The Alchemist." He was born in 1947 in the city of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. As the author of 30 books that have sold over 320 million copies in 170 countries, he has become one of the most widely read authors in the world today.