Why do cicadas come out?

Cicadas come out of the ground to mate and lay eggs so that the next generation of cicadas will be born. Immature cicada larvae live within trees and consume the sap, then they burrow into the ground when mature and live off tree roots for 2 to 17 years before returning to the surface again.