Was shakespeare murdered?

William Shakespeare died on April 23, 1616 at the age of 52. No surviving source from the time gave an account of his death, though murder seems unlikely. An account from the Vicar of Stratford, written decades later, recalled that Shakespeare caught a fever after a night drinking with friends.