What's the range of the u. v. index?

The UV Index was previously reported on a scale of 0 to 10+, with 0 representing “Minimal” and 10+ representing “Very High.” As of May 2004, EPA and NWS will report the Global Solar UV Index using a scale of 1 (or “Low”) to 11 and higher (or “Extreme”).