How many shades of green can the human eye detect?

Thousands, it's the most perceived color for humans. Humans are trichromats, meaning we perceive three primary colors: blue, green and red. The retina in a human eye can detect light between wavelengths of 400 and 700 nanometers, a range known as the visible spectrum.