How did kobe bryant get his name?

. His mother and father named him after the famous Japanese Kobe Beef after seeing it on the menu at a restaurant. However, they made a slight change to the pronunciation. Bryant’s name is pronounced “ko-bee” whereas the meat is pronounced “ko-bay.”